Hear a New Anti-Trump Song Every Day on Dave Eggers' Protest Song Site

'30 Days, 30 Songs' Will Feature Different Artists' Tracks Daily Until Election

By Alexandra Jardine. Published on Oct 12, 2016

Editor's Pick

Artists including Aimee Man, Death Cab for Cutie and REM have signed up to a new anti-Donald Trump initiative titled "30 Days, 30 Songs" that will release a new track in each day leading up to the U.S. Election.

The project is the brainchild of creators including author Dave Eggers, who in 2012 spearheaded a project called 90 Days, 90 Reasons, designed to help elect President Obama to a second term. Eggers has stated that he was motivated to start a protest song movement after noticing that music by popular artists like Bruce Springsteen was being played at a Trump rally, even if the artists themselves did not support Trump.

The site allows people to listen to the playlist and also share it on social media. The artists involved are calling themselves "Artists for a Trump-Free America" and so far, the songs' lyrics have specifically taken aim at Trump in quite a personal way. Death Cab for Cutie's "Million Dollar Loan" points out that Trump's claims to be a self-made man are undermined by the fact that his business was started with a loan from his father. Mann's song, "Can't You Tell?" meanwhile addresses the listener in Trump's voice with lyrics like "Isn't anybody going to stop me?" and suggesting that Trump is "unwell."

Rate this Ad

You must be registered to rate this ad.
Please Login or Register Now



Oct 12, 2016
Artists for a Trump-Free America

Need a credit fix? Contact the Creativity Editors

The Creativity Newsletter

The Creativity newsletter is editorially curated to spotlight the work that’s hitting the mark—or missing it altogether. Sign up to have it sent to your inbox.