Design Museum Brit Insurance Designs of the Year 2010: The Newspaper Club, UK

Category winners for the Design Museum's 2010 Brit Insurance Design Awards.

Published on Mar 15, 2010

Editor's Pick

London's Design Museum recently announced the 2010 category winners for the Brit Insurance Design Awards.

The Architecture Award went to Chilean firm Elemental's Monterrey Housing in Mexico; Alexander McQueen took the Fashion prize for the Spring/Summer 2010 Catwalk Presentation, Plato's Atlantis and Jair Straschnow earned the prize in furniture for his Grassworks, Netherlands collection.

Ben Terrett, Russell Davis and Tom Taylor's The Newspaper Club site, which helps the general public create their own newspapers, earned the prize in Graphics. The EyeWriter, USA, created by members of Free Art and Technology, openFrameworks, Graffiti Research Lab, The Ebeling Group and Tony Quan won the Interactive Award. The EyeWriter is a device that empowers people afflicted with ALS with creative technologies, allowing them to create art through the movement of their eye via low-cost eye-tracking glasses and custom software.

Designer Min-Kyu Choi earned the product award for the Folding Plug. Choi reworked the bulky standard UK plug design into a sleek system that can fold down to a 10mm width. China's Yuneec International earned the Transport award for its E430 Electric Aircraft, a dual seater, single engine sport electric aircraft that produces zero emissions.

Rate this Ad

You must be registered to rate this ad.
Please or Register Now

Need a credit fix? Contact the Creativity Editors

The Creativity Newsletter

The Creativity newsletter is editorially curated to spotlight the work that’s hitting the mark—or missing it altogether. Sign up to have it sent to your inbox.